California Trailblazers, a program that successfully identifies, trains and elects the next generation of Republican legislative leaders, congratulates two first-time Trailblazers candidates and 11 Trailblazers alumni (see full list below) who were elected to the California State Senate and Assembly Tuesday.

“We are so proud of our candidates and alumni on their tremendous victories all across California on Tuesday,” said Trailblazers CEO Jessica Patterson. “With several races too close to call, we look forward to announcing more wins as the vote counts are finalized.”

Trailblazers candidates Tyler Diep (AD 72) and Andreas Borgeas (SD 8) brought home Republican victories and 11 Trailblazers alumni won their critical races across the state. As of Thursday, several program candidates and alumni remain in races too close to call.

“These candidates spoke to the everyday issues Californians are facing, such as the mounting affordability crisis, high taxes and water access,” Patterson said. “From our 11 alumni reelected to the state legislature to our two first-time candidates winning their races, these Trailblazers continue to demonstrate how critical our program is to Republican success in California and the nation.”

California Trailblazers now turns its work to recruiting, training and equipping successful Republican legislative candidates for the 2020 election.

Trailblazers Candidates and Alumni Elected to California Legislature (as of Nov. 8):

Trailblazers Candidates

Andreas Borgeas, SD 8

Tyler Diep, AD 72

Trailblazers Alumni

Sen. Jeff Stone, SD 28

Sen. Republican Leader Pat Bates, SD 36

Asm. James Gallagher, AD 3

Asm. Frank Bigelow, AD 5

Asm. Kevin Kiley, AD 6

Asm. Vince Fong, AD 34

Asm. Jordan Cunningham, AD 35

Asm. Chad Mayes, AD 42

Asm. Phillip Chen, AD 55

Asm. Steven Choi, AD 68

About California Trailblazers      

California Trailblazers aims to recruit and train Republican candidates who reflect California’s diverse population. The program is modeled after the National Republican Congressional Committee’s successful Young Guns program. For more information, please visit and follow @CAtrailblazers.